No ALT tag specified
Skibbereen's John Hayes making a big tackle in Junior Cup game with Highfield
Jane Burns
Junior Rugby Roundup
4 April 2013, 6:07 pm
Richmond to face Clonakilty in Ulster Bank League Division 2B next weekend as Skibbereen book place in the semi-Final of the Munster Junior Cup
Richmond kept alive their hopes of a return to Senior rugby after they finished runners up in the All Ireland Provincial League Championship after their 15-5 away win over Portadown. The Ulster champions led 5-3 at half time with Brian Mullins kicking a penalty for the Limerick side. A try by James Kelly put Richmond into the lead and Mullins added the extras. Sean Bennis made sure of victory with a second try.

Richmond will now travel to Clonakilty next Saturday to decide which of these sides will be playing in Division 2B of the Ulster Bank League next season or the Munster Junior League. No matter what the result of this game both Galbally and Newport are now certain of avoiding relegation in the Munster Junior League.

Tullamore won the Round Robin series with a 26-17 away win over Monivea and will now be a senior club next season.

Skibbereen have set up a rematch of last season's Munster Junior Cup Final against Cork Constitution after they defeated Highfield in the last of the quarter final ties at Woodleigh Park. Despite playing into the strong gale in the first half a try by Paul Stack converted by Colm Downs gave the home side a 7-0 half time lead. Downs increased Highfield's advantage with a penalty but Skibbereen rallied and tries by Peter Stout and David O'Keeffe had the sides level 10-10. David Shannon who was having a bad day with the boot eventually found the target to put Skibbereen into the lead.

Holders Cork Constitution were beaten at home by U.L. Bohemian 31-29 in the semi final of the Munster Seconds League. Brendan Monahan opened the scoring with a penalty for Con'. Tries from Alan Rossiter and Killian Ansboro put the visitors ahead. Jayde Cruickshank replied with a try for the home side but a second try by Rossiter converted by Derek Farrell made it 17-8 to U.L. at half time.
Conor Desmond scored a try for the Temple Hill side and Monahan converted to leave two points between the sides. Bob Buckley restored the visitors advantage with a try and Farrell converted but Con' responded with a try by Michael Keyes and Brian Derham added the extras.
The Limerick side hit back with a try by Jim White and Farrell converted and Con's last response was a try by Alan Ross which Derham converted.

In difficult conditions at Fermoy on Saturday afternoon, Youghal caused a major sensation when they defeated Mallow after extra time to win the Munster Junior Clubs Challenge Shield 12-9. The game was a battle of the kickers Jonathon Ormond for Youghal and Andy Cashman for Mallow. The sides were tied 6-6 at half time and finished 9-9 at full time. A fourth penalty by Ormond early in the first period of extra time secured victory for the East Cork side.

Abbeyfeale also caused an upset with an 18-0 win over Waterford City in the final of the Martin O'Sullivan Cup at Charleville. Two penalties from Thomas Enright gave Abbeyfeale a 6-0 interval lead. Robert Browne added two tries after the break and Enright converted one of them.

Kilfeacle won the Garryowen Cup with a 38-0 win over Nenagh Ormond at Cashel.

Clonmel booked their place in the final of the Mansergh Cup with 25-12 home win over Thurles. Clonmel led 13-5 at half time with a try and penalty from Morgan Lyons and a conversion and penalty by Brian Lonergan to a try for Thurles by John Loughman. Thurles closed the gap to a point with a try by Roy Stanley which Ian Stanley converted but tries by Mick Barry and Mark Jenkinson and a Lonergan conversion saw Clonmel advance to a meeting with Nenagh Ormond in the final.

Carrigaline advanced to their first ever Munster Final when they defeated Thomond 27-14 at Moneygourney in the semi final of the Munster Junior Two Cup. Steve Caul scored two tries for the winners and Sean Lucey and Darren Twomey got a try each. Peter Kelleher kicked two conversions and a penalty. Jonathan Forde and Glen O'Callaghan replied with tries for Thomond and Christian Meehan converted both.

Richmond booked their place in the final with an 8-5 home win over Cork Constitution. Jeffrey McNamara scored a first half try for Richmond and Brian O'Neill extended their advantage with a penalty before Con closed the gap with a try by Eddie Quinn.

Tries by Dave Griffin and Tim Cotter and a Cotter conversion was enough to give Dolphin a 12-11 win over
Cashel in the final of the Mick Barry Cup at Musgrave Park.

Waterpark defeated Dungarvan 26-5 to reach the semi final of the Dave Dineen Cup. Dave Latimer scored two tries for Waterpark and Eoin Keane and Geoff Deegan scored a try each and Deegan kicked three conversions.

Cork Transport and Midleton will contest the Junior Three Cup South Final. Transport had a surprising 12-8 away win over Fermoy. Dave O'Keeffe and Mark Bevan scored tries for the winners and Bevan kicked a conversion. Martin O'Brien replied with a try for Fermoy and Peter Skuse added a penalty.

Tries by Eoin McGrath and Phil Smyth and a conversion by Cian Ronayne helped Midleton to a 12-3 away win over Dunmanway-Bantry Bay. Killian McCarthy replied with a penalty for the home side.

Bandon will face Navan in next week's All Ireland Under 19 Final after their 17-3 win over Buccaneers at the Showgrounds. Two drop goals from Jack Murphy and a try by Gearoid O'Leary have Bandon an 11-0 lead at half time. Richard Walsh added a penalty and Murphy a third drop goal to secure victory.

All Ireland Provincial League Championship: Monivea 17, Tullamore 26;
Portadown 5, Richmond 15;

Munster Junior Cup: Highfield 10, Skibbereen 13;

Munster Seconds League Semi Final: Cork Constitution 29, U.L. Bohemian 31;

Munster Junior Shield Final: Mallow 9, Youghal 12 (aet);

Martin O'Sullivan Cup Final: Abbeyfeale 18, Waterford City 0;

Munster Junior 2 Cup Semi Finals: Carrigaline 27, Thomond 14;
Richmond 8, Cork Constitution 5;

Garryowen Cup Final: Kilfeacle 38, Nenagh Ormond 0;

Mansergh Cup Semi-Final: Clonmel 25, Thurles 12;

Mick Barry Cup Final: Dolphin 12, Cashel 11;

Dave Dineen Cup: Waterpark 26, Dungarvan 5;

Kelly Cup: Mallow 21, Skibbereen 0;

O'Carroll Plate Semi Final: Kilrush 11, Newcastle West 13;

Junior Three Cup South Semi-Finals: Dunmanway-Bantry Bay 3, Midleton 12;
Fermoy 8, Cork Transport 12;

Frazer McMullen All Ireland Under 21 Cup Final: Lansdowne 27, Dublin University 26;

All Ireland Under 19 Semi Final; Buccaneers 3, Bandon 17;

All Ireland Under 17 Semi Final: Sligo 17, Clonakilty 3;

South Under 19 Cup: Kanturk 3, Highfield 17;

South Under 19 Development Cup Final: Dolphin 17, Midleton 33;

South Under 19 Phase 2 League Final: Kinsale 16, Mallow 10;

South Under 17 Development Cup Final: Ballincollig 8, Bantry Bay 5;

South Under 15 Development Cup Final: Kinsale 7, Sunday's Well 5;

Domestic Game News
Upcoming Events
No ALT tag specified
No ALT tag specified

Fixtures & Results

No ALT tag specified
No ALT tag specified

Coaches Resource Website

No ALT tag specified
Red Book

Red Book



No ALT tag specified
No ALT tag specified

Coaching Courses

No ALT tag specified
No ALT tag specified


© 2017 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM