DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Munster Rugby E-zine

Sign up to the e-zine to get all the latest news directly to your inbox from Munster Rugby

Munster side named for Dragons in Cork

November 2, 2017 11:54 am By The Editor

Director of Rugby Rassie Erasmus has named the Munster side that will face Dragons at Irish Independent Park tomorrow night in what may be his final game in charge (7.35pm, non-televised, tickets here)

Billy Holland captains the side and is set to make his 170th appearance for the province having started all nine of Munster’s games so far this season.

Simon Zebo is named at full-back with new signing Chris Cloete making his debut as Darren Sweetnam, Chris Farrell and Ian Keatley are all in the matchday 23 having been released from Ireland camp.

In all there are 10 changes to the side that faced Connacht last week.

JJ Hanrahan and Duncan Williams make up the half-back pairing with Sweetnam and Alex Wootton, Munster’s top try-scorer this term with five tries, on the wings.

Rory Scannell and Farrell maintain their centre partnership.

Rhys Marshall keeps his place at hooker with Greencore Academy player Liam O’Connor and tighthead Stephen Archer on either side of the front row.

Jean Kleyn comes in to partner Holland in the engine room as Erasmus names an exciting back row trio of Jack O’Donoghue, Cloete and Robin Copeland.

Kevin O’Byrne, James Cronin and Brian Scott provide the front row cover with Cronin and Scott set for their second appearances of the season.

Darren O’Shea is set for his first senior appearance of the campaign with on-loan Mark Flanagan completing the forward cover.

James Hart, Keatley and Sam Arnold – who is also in line for his first senior game of the season – are the backline replacements.

Munster: Simon Zebo; Darren Sweetnam, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Alex Wootton; JJ Hanrahan, Duncan Williams; Liam O’Connor, Rhys Marshall, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland (C); Jack O’Donoghue, Chris Cloete, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, James Cronin, Brian Scott, Darren O’Shea, Mark Flanagan, James Hart, Ian Keatley, Sam Arnold.


Tickets are available to buy:

  • online here
  • Munster Rugby Ticket office from 9am – 5pm from Monday to Friday
  • Mobile Ticket unit (Dolphin End) from 4pm on match day

Ticket Prices

Adult Stand – €30 (Unreserved seating)

Junior Stand – €10 (Unreserved seating)

Adult Terrace – €20

Junior Terrace – €7

Family Pack Terrace – €40 (2 adults & 2 junior)

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Munster Rugby E-zine

Sign up to the e-zine to get all the latest news directly to your inbox from Munster Rugby

Friday Night Club Rugby

November 11, 2017 12:02 am By Leonard Allen

All five Munster local derbies in the All Ireland League produced exciting matches despite the bad weather.


In Division 1A Garryowen moved back into the play off places with a 6-3 home win against Young Munster at Dooradoyle. Alan Tynan put the visitors ahead after four minutes but penalties by Neil Cronin on 11 and 27 minutes were enough to secure victory for Garryowen.


In Division 1B U.C.C. kept their good run going with a hard earned 20-19 win over bottom side Dolphin. Barry Keeshan opened the scoring with a penalty for Dolphin but College hit back with a John Poland try which James Taylor converted. Keeshan and Taylor exchanged penalties to leave the students 10-6 ahead at half time.

A try from Richard Walsh converted by Taylor extended College’s advantage. A Keeshan penalty and a conversion of a try by Anthony Mason closed the gap to 17-16. A long range penalty from Cian McGovern put Dolphin ahead but Taylor kicked a late penalty to give College the points.


In Division 2A Cashel came out on top in the Tipperary derby with a 10-6 home win against Nenagh Ormond. Eamon Connolly scored the game’s only try for Cashel and Darragh Lyons converted and added two penalties. Clayton Stewart replied with two penalties for Nenagh.


Division 2B leaders Old Crescent maintained their unbeaten record with a 16-6 win over Sunday’s Well at Irish Independent Park. This was the first Cork v Limerick league game to be played in Cork under lights.

Three penalties from Ronan McKenna gave Old Crescent a 9-0 lead after twenty three minutes. Penalties by Shane O’Riordan on 36 and 55 minutes closed the gap but a Larry Hanly try converted by McKenna denied the ‘Well a losing bonus point.


Thomond are top of Division 2B for twenty four hours at least after their 8-6 away win at Bruff. Ger Finucane gave Thomond the lead with a try. Dave O’Grady opened Bruff’s account with a penalty but Evan Cusack replied for Thomond to leave them 8-6 ahead at half time. The only score of the second half was a second penalty by O’Grady.



All Ireland League Division 1A: Clontarf 0, Lansdowne 9;

Garryowen 6, Young Munster 3;

St. Mary’s College 15, Dublin University 18;

Terenure College 17, UCD 22;

Division 1B: Ballymena 0, Ballynahinch 27;

U.C.C. 20, Dolphin 19;

Division 2A: Blackrock College 17, Greystones 8;

Cashel 10, Nenagh Ormond 6;

Galwegians 7, Galway Corinthians 7;

Malone 11, Queens University 20;

Division 2B: Skerries 0, Navan 27;

Sunday’s Well 6, Old Crescent 16;

Division 2C: Bective Rangers 29, Seapoint 8;

Bruff 6, Thomond 8;

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups

Munster Rugby E-zine

Sign up to the e-zine to get all the latest news directly to your inbox from Munster Rugby