DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Ireland U20s Fall Short

5th June 2010 By Munster Rugby

Ireland suffered defeat to France in their opening game of the Junior World Cup today in Rosario, Argentina.

Ireland suffered defeat to France in their opening game of the Junior World Cup today in Rosario, Argentina.

France outhalf Jean Marc Doussain and Ireland's James McKinney exchanged penalties in the first half with the French number 10 outscoring McKinney four to two, giving the French a 6 point margin going in at the break.

On the resumption Ireland responded with three unanswered McKinney penalties giving Ireland the lead for the first time.

France made the necessary changes after 52 minutes and a re-juvenated pack attacked the Irish defence, with number 8 Antoine Erbani making his way over the line for the opening try of the game after 72 minutes, with replacement outhalf Gilles Bosch kicking the conversion.

A further Bosch penalty looked to secure victory for France, but Ireland mounted a counter attack which led to a dramatic end after a great passage of play from Andrew Conway and Noel Reid sent Simon Zebo over for Ireland's try. McKinney held his nerve to convert the difficult side line kick and both sides were level on 22 points at the end of normal time.

Disappointingly Ireland conceded a final penalty on the 85th minute and Bosch duely converted giving the French a narrow 25-22 victory.

Ireland: Andrew Conway, Darren Hudson (Noel Reid 70), Eoin Griffin, Nevin Spence, Simon Zebo, Kames McKinney, John Cooney (Michael Heaney 77), Jack O’Connell, Niall Annett (David Doyle 75), Stewart Maguire (Bryan Cagney 75), Dave O’Callaghan, Ben Marshall (Brian Hayes 75), Rhy Ruddock (Capt.), Dominic Ryan, Paddy Butler.
Replacements: David Doyle, Bryan Cagney, Brian Hayes, Brian O’Hara, Michael Heaney, Noel Reid, David McSharry.

France: Brice Dulin, Clement Lagain, Remi Lamerat, Romain Barthelemy, Jeremy Sinzelle, Jean Marc Doussain, Alexi Bales, Xavier Chiocci, Mickael Ivaldi (Capt.), Sylvain Abadie, Jean Sousa, Georges Souvent, Arthur Roulin, Tanguy Molcard, Antoine Erbani. Replacements: Kevin Le Guen, Eddy Ben Arous, Romain Taofifenua, Kevin Gimeno, Gilles Bosch, Mathieu Lamoulie, Hugo Bonneval.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

With the World Rugby U20s Championship looming the annual challenge game between the Ireland U20s and Munster A/Development takes place in Thomond Park tomorrow at...