DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Richmond Extend Lead In Junior League

2nd December 2012 By Munster Rugby

With half of their program completed, Richmond have opened up a six point gap at the top of Division One of the Munster Junior League after a 34-19 win over second placed Kilfeacle and are on course for their third title in four seasons.

With half of their program completed, Richmond have opened up a six point gap at the top of Division One of the Munster Junior League after a 34-19 win over second placed Kilfeacle and are on course for their third title in four seasons.

Tries by Sean Bennett and Pat Humphries and two conversions and a penalty by Brian Mullins had Richmond 17-9 ahead at half time. Shane Loony replied with three penalties for the visitors. Emmet Harty and Stephen Clancy added further tries and Mullins converted both and also added a penalty. Sean McGrath scored a push over try for the Tipperary side and Looby converted and kicked two penalties.

Kanturk and Skibbereen have moved into joint third. A last minute penalty by Stephen McAuliffe, his third of the game earned Kanturk a narrow 9-8 away win over bottom side Clanwilliam. David Quinlan scored a try for the home side and Richard Childs kicked a penalty.

Skibbereen defeated Cobh Pirates 24-13. Tries by David Shannon and Declan Coppinger gave the West Cork side a 10-7 interval lead. Mark Chandler scored a try for Cobh and Eoin Geary converted. Geary tied up the scores early in the second half with a penalty, but further tries from Shannon and Coppinger both converted by Steve Hansel secured maximum points for the home side. Cobh’s only reply was a second Geary penalty.

Waterpark caused the shock of the day with a 26-9 home win over Tralee. John Flynn, Paddy Kiersey and Eoghan Duff scored tries for Waterpark and Flynn added three penalties and a conversion. Dan Clarke replied with three penalties for Tralee.

Galbally kept up their challenge with a 22-13 home win over Clonmel. Danny Hayes, Brendan Childs and Eoin Bourke scored tries for Galbally and Greg Airey converted two and also added a penalty. Greg Carroll scored a try for Clonmel and Danny Lyons kicked a conversion and two penalties.

Old Christians came from 10-0 down at half time to defeat Crosshaven 14-13. Tom Maher scored a try for the winners and Conor Mangan kicked three penalties.

Newcastle West got back to winning ways with a 19-5 home win over St. Senan’s. Sean Corbett scored a try for the winners and Alan Roche converted and kicked four penalties. Tony O’Brien replied with a try for the visitors.

Only three games survived the weather in the Second Division. Muskerry are back on top after a last minute penalty by Jonathan Buckley earned the mid Cork side a 16-15 away win over Bandon. A try by Eoghan O’Donovan converted by Cathal Crowley had Bandon 7-6 ahead at half time. Buckley kicked two penalties for the visitors. Gearoid Crowley scored a second try for Bandon and Cathal Crowley added a penalty that looked like giving victory to the home side, but a try by Shane Murphy and a conversion and penalty by Buckley proved crucial.

Kinsale kept their challenge on track with a 16-9 home win over Newport. Joe Lyons scored a try for Kinsale and Peter Murphy kicked a conversion and three penalties. Philip O’Brien replied with three penalties for Newport.

Ennis had a surprise 13-7 away win over Youghal. Stephen Dunne and Cian Guilfoyle scored tries for the Clare side and David Murphy added a penalty. Alan Moloney scored a try for Youghal and Alan Frahill O’Connor converted.

Munster Junior Cup:
Douglas 7, Ballincollig 21;
Highfield 38, Charleville 13;
Killorglin 32, Scariff 6;
Midleton 62, Corca Dhuibhne 10;
Sunday's Well 43, Dunmanway-Bantry Bay 10;

Munster Junior League Division 1: Clanwilliam 8, Kanturk 9;
Crosshaven 13, Old Christians 14;
Galbally 22, Clonmel 13;
Newcastle West 19, St. Senan's 5;
Richmond 34, Kilfeacle 19;
Skibbereen 24, Cobh Pirates 13;
Waterpark 26, Tralee 9;

Division 2: Bandon 15, Muskerry 16;
Kinsale 16, Newport 9;
Youghal 13, Ennis 7;

Gleeson League Division 1A: Richmond 34, UL Bohemian 10;

South Munster Junior 2 League Section A: Iveragh 17, Kenmare 0;
Killarney 10, Tralee 15;

Section B: Waterford City 14, Waterpark 25;

Section C: Kinsale 27, Bandon 10;

Section E: Highfield 45, Shandon 14;

South Munster Junior 3 League Section A: Carrigaline 19, Bandon 6;

Section B: Midleton 29, Cork Transport 29;
Charleville 5, Fermoy 20;

Under 21 South Western Conference: Galwegians 15, Corinthians-NUIG 13;
U.C.C. 23, Garryowen 26;
U.L. Bohemian 29, Old Crescent 0;
Young Munster 17, Dolphin 10;

Under 19 League South Section 1: Bandon 44, Muskerry-Ballincollig 0;
Highfield 6, Cork Constitution 19;

Section 2: Dolphin 25, Old Christians 5;
Sunday's Well 31, Kanturk 13;
Youghal 31, Midleton 10;

Under 17 League League: Ballincollig 0, Skibbereen 24;
Fermoy 13, Youghal 17;
Mitchelstown 5, Midleton 17;

South Munster Under 15 League Section 1: Ballincollig 8, Skibbereen 26;
Bantry Bay 25, Crosshaven 0;
Dunmanway 5, Muskerry 5;
Highfield 10, Clonakilty 33;

Section 2: Cobh Pirates 25, Youghal 12;
Dolphin 22, Old Christians 8;
Sunday's Well 17, Cork Constitution 7;

West Munster Under 15 League: Corca Dhuibhne 17, Tralee Barbarians 18;
Killarney 17, Killorglin 15;
Tralee 17, Listowel 3;

West Munster Under 13 League: Abbeyfeale 33, Castleisland 40;
Killarney 7, Killorglin 15;
Tralee 27, Listowel 5;

North Munster Under 14 League: Garryowen 14, Young Munster 10;


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

An extended 32-man Ireland Club International squad has been named for the 2019 Series. Ireland Club XV Head Coach Morgan Lennon made the announcement ahead...