DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Stander Voted IRUPA Players’ Player Of The Year

4th May 2016 By Munster Rugby

Munster and Ireland’s CJ Stander has been voted the IRUPA Players’ Player of the Year award by his fellow players at the 14th annual awards ceremony.

Munster and Ireland’s CJ Stander has been voted the IRUPA Players’ Player of the Year award by his fellow players at the 14th annual awards ceremony.

The South African-born Irish international had an outstanding debut season for his adopted country, earning his first cap in Ireland’s opening 6 Nations draw against Wales where he was named man-of-the-match. Stander continued this rich vein of form for the remainder of the campaign scoring his first international try against Italy. He was subsequently appointed Munster captain following injury to Peter O’Mahony and has been one of the standout players for the province this season.

Stander’s performances didn’t go unnoticed by supporters either as he was also voted Supporters’ Player of the Year 2016, and in doing so, became the first ever player to receive this double-honour in the same year.

On receiving the award, Stander said: “I’m delighted to win this award. Receiving recognition from my fellow peers is the ultimate accolade. I will remember this season fondly, from winning my first cap, to scoring my first international try and ultimately winning this award.”

Josh van der Flier was named the Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year after impressing all season for Leinster and excelling in his debut for Ireland against England in the Six Nations Championship.

Joining Ireland’s heroes in the BNY Mellon IRUPA Hall of Fame was former Munster and Ireland out-half Ronan O’Gara. Leinster’s Isaac Boss was awarded the Vodafone Medal for Excellence, which rewards on-field effort combined with off-field commitment to the game.

The Contribution to Irish Society was presented to former Leinster player, Niall Breslin, in recognition of the massive impact he has made in raising awareness of mental health and various other charities.

The BNY Mellon Women’s Fifteens Player of the Year 2016, as voted by members of the Ireland squad, was presented to another Irish international debutant, Sene Naoupu, for her outstanding performances. The winner of the Women’s Sevens Player of the Year was Munster’s Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe who helped Ireland to qualify for the World Series for the first time.

Omar Hassanein, CEO of IRUPA, congratulated all of the award winners: “Winning an IRUPA award is the highest honour a player can receive. All of the winners and nominees have the total respect of those who they play with and against. I am delighted for CJ, the award he received is a superb reflection of the fantastic season he has enjoyed with both Ireland and Munster Rugby.”


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Munster Rugby E-zine

Sign up to the e-zine to get all the latest news directly to your inbox from Munster Rugby

Related News

Munster captain Peter O'Mahony is aiming for his side to produce their best performance of the season at Thomond Park on Saturday as Pool 2...