DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Farrell To Make 6 Nations Debut

22nd February 2018 By The Editor

Chris Farrell in action for Ireland against Argentina in November.

The Ireland coaching group have named the match day 23 that will host Wales at the Aviva Stadium in Round 3 of the NatWest 6 Nations Championship.

Six Munster players have been included with Chris Farrell making his 6 Nations debut at outside centre as Keith earls, Conor Murray, Peter O’Mahony and CJ Stander also start with John Ryan among the replacements.

Andrew Porter has been named to start his first 6 Nations Championship match. Porter, who came on for the injured Tadhg Furlong in the Italy game, is named alongside Cian Healy and captain Rory Best – who becomes Ireland’s third most capped player on 109 caps.

James Ryan is named in the second row with Devin Toner while O’Mahony, Dan Leavy and Stander form the back row trio.

Murray and Johnny Sexton are the halfbacks while Farrell, making his tournament debut, comes in at centre for the injured Robbie Henshaw alongside Bundee Aki. Farrell won his first two Ireland caps in the Guinness Series against Fiji and Argentina.

Rob Kearney is at fullback in an unchanged back three with Earls and Jacob Stockdale on the wings.

The replacements are Sean Cronin, Jack McGrath, John Ryan, Quinn Roux, Jack Conan, Kieran Marmion, Joey Carbery and Fergus McFadden.

Ireland Team & Replacements (v Wales, NatWest 6 Nations Championship, Aviva Stadium, Saturday, February 24, 2.15)

15 Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 80 caps

14 Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 64 caps

13 Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 2 caps

12 Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 4 caps

11 Jacob Stockdale (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 6 caps

10 Johnny Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 70 caps

9 Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 61 caps

1 Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 75 caps

2 Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 108 caps

3 Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 4 caps

4 James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 5 caps

5 Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 55 caps

6 Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 44 caps

7 Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 6 caps

8 CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 20 caps


16 Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 58 caps

17 Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 44 caps

18 John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 12 caps

19 Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht) 4 caps

20 Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 6 caps

21 Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 19 caps

22 Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 7 caps

23 Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 33 caps

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU